Last Cast Letter #20: A Dedicated Edition

Please open if you have a few minutes.

Hi All - It's not the last day of the month, but it's still time for the Last Cast Letter.

I apologize for being a few days late. I'm going to be completely honest: I didn't feel like writing or editing the edition I planned to publish on Saturday.

That's because a few days prior, a former teammate of mine, Johnny Gaudreau, and his brother, Matthew, were killed when they were riding bicycles in New Jersey.

None of it makes sense and it still doesn't seem real.

In an effort to help in any way I can, I would like to dedicate this edition to Johnny and Matthew. Since these newsletters are published online, I'd like to take a chance to memorialize my support, and the entire hockey community's support, for their family as they somehow push through this tragedy.

I wore #14 at Boston College. Johnny wore #13. This meant I had the honor of standing next to him during the starting lineups. I was lucky if I got 5 minutes of ice time. The other team was lucky if Johnny didn't put up 5 points against them.

For those who didn't follow the game, Johnny was so good at the sport, that it's truly hard to describe his skill level in a few sentences.

One memory that's etched in my mind is when a small group of us was playing 3-on-3 over Christmas break during my senior year. I forget the other two players I was playing with, but I know I was playing against, Johnny.

Dead serious, we could not get the puck. I swear, it was glued to his stick. I'm not going to lie, it was frustrating. Because I'm super competitive and I didn't love the fact a kid two grades below me was making me look like an idiot. Even in a pickup game.

At the same time, it was simply amazing. Sometimes you hear of great athletes being compared to artists. That's what Johnny was on the ice. He truly was some sort of Picasso with the puck. Yes, he worked hard. But he also had this innate understanding and feel for the game that you only see once or twice a generation.

His personality off the ice matched his skill level on the ice. He was an incredible kid. Always happy, always smiling.

I never had the chance to play with his brother Matthew, but I'd like to use this edition to draw awareness to the GoFundMe campaign that was set up for his wife, Madeline, who is pregnant with the couple's first child and is due in December.

I don't have much else to say. I want to reiterate my love and support for Johnny and Matthew's family. We love you and we'll never let your sons be forgotten.

Brooks